Compassion

Compassion

“‘He abused me, she struck me, he overpowered me, she robbed me.’
Those who harbor such thoughts do not still their hatred.
‘He abused me, she struck me, he overpowered me, she robbed me.’
Those who do not harbor such thoughts still their hatred.”

~The Buddha
from the Dhammapada

Yet we keep saying it, don’t we dears? Complainin’ about what this or that one said or did to us.
And the Buddha tells us it is so counter-productive – we just feel worse when we think that way.

But when we do not think that way – when we offer loving-kindnes towards those who speak
ill of us, or harm us in some way, our own happiness grows. Amazing!

~dg

[My teacher]
Karma Sherab Drolma
A great reminder, at a great time for everyone.

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

